Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of seven members, appointed by the City Council for terms of four years each.  The authority for the work of the Commission is established in State law and in the Campbell Municipal Code.  The primary duties and responsibilities of the Commission are:

  1.  To consider and take action on land use development applications, such as Conditional Use Permits, Site and Architectural Review Permits, Planned Development Permits, and subdivision applications.
  2. To review, take public testimony, and make recommendations to the City Council in regard to the City's General Plan, which is a comprehensive, long-term compilation of policies regarding the physical, social and economic development of the City.
  3.  To develop zoning regulations to implement the General Plan, hold public hearings, and make recommendations regarding the adoption of these regulations to the City Council.
  4. To assist the City Council as requested by reviewing and commenting on special projects, studies, and reports and by holding public meetings and hearings to gather public comment.

The Planning Commission meets the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:30 PM in the City Council Chambers, 70 N First Street, Campbell, CA 95008. Agendas are publicly posted at least 72 hours before the meetings and are available on the Agenda Center webpage. Planning Commission meetings are webcast live on the City's website and televised on Comcast Channel 26.

To receive e-mail notifications of meetings or to contact the Commission, please contact the Planning Division at (408) 866-2140 or send an email to

Planning Commissioners: 

Michael Rich, Chair

Term Expires:  August 2021

JoElle Hernandez, Vice Chair

Term Expires:  August 2020

Stuart Ching                                     

Term Expires:  August 2019

Cynthia Dodd                        

Term Expires: August 2020

Michael Krey   

Term Expires: August 2021

Maggie Ostrowski        

Term Expires: August 2021

Andrew Rivlin                                     

Term Expires: August 2018